woodbowlsandthings

November 14, 2011

Bowl Bottom Finder Update

Filed under: Wood Lathe — Tags: , , , , , , — peteblair @ 6:17 pm

Well, it seems the my brain never ceases to keep working regardless of whether I want it to or not, even often as I sleep.

If you read my previous post re the Bottom Finder Jig, then you will know I spent some time trying to come up with the Jig.

Last night while half asleep I realized I had done way more than I needed to. The jig I built will work every bit as good if not better, as a indicator, if the thickness of the bottom of the bowl is measured with callipers prior to mounting on the vacuum chuck.

Like this.

Then after the bow is mounted the Jig can be set to indicate the bottom without the need to measure through the drive shaft.

Next I set the right had side of the Jig arm to the outside bottom of the bowl.

Then I measure the caliper to find out how thick the bottom actually is.

I then mark the arm of the Jig with the width of the callipers as I just measured, and reset the jig that amount.

Here is the jig indicating the bottom of the inside of the bowl. It is again the right hand side of the arm.

No guessing at all now. I can make the bottom exactly whatever thickness I choose and not worry about going through and producing another ‘funnel’.

My first effort was a little over engineered as usual!

I did notice when I used the Jig today that if there is a situation where I can’t use the callipers or for some other reason can’t actually measure the bottom thickness then my first jig will do the job.

Once again, if you have any questions please don’t hesitate to let me know.

Sometimes even I, wonder about me!!!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

