woodbowlsandthings

January 1, 2013

Bottle Stopper

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , , , , , , — peteblair @ 9:24 am

I have just begun making bottle stoppers. These can be used on just about any bottle from wine and spirits to vinegars and liquid spices.

I searched the internet and discovered Ruth Niles web site. It is a wealth of information!

I ordered the starter set and used all the stainless steel stoppers that came in the kit the first week.

These are a VERY high quality stopper and in my opinion should only be used on your top of the line stoppers. The price makes them a little higher price than some that I want to turn so I started looking around to see if I could add a slightly less costly (to make and thus sell) line of stoppers.

My wife often like to have a drink after work before dinner and I noticed that the the Vodka she drinks utilizes a synthetic stopper.

Here’s a picture of it.

IMG_1397

It really seems to fit  tight and I wondered if I could use this style as it appears really well designed and is very secure in a bottle. I searched the internet and found a similar one on a Wine Supply web site.

Following along with Capt Eddy‘s video I thought that this type of stopper would make a great, ‘over the top’ type of stopper.

Here are a couple of shots of a finished stopper.

IMG_1399I simply grip a blank in my pin jaws and drill two holes one a little larger than the top of the bottle and one the same size as the top of the ‘cap’. When finished I epoxy the cap into the appropriate hole. An added benefit is that it is really easy to make a ‘jam’ chuck with a hole to fit the synthetic plug.IMG_1398

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

