woodbowlsandthings

January 29, 2013

The Sun?

Filed under: Uncategorized — peteblair @ 3:47 pm

I found a chunk of rough Ash in my shop and because I’m presently experimenting with a router I figured it would be good for a test.

I don’t really like ash very much cause I’m not fond of the open grain but this piece may have at least started to change my mind.

My son-in-law thinks it’s pretty cool and says it looks like the sun. What do you think?

it is about 7 3/4″ x 3/4″ finished with several coats of Walnut oil(which seemed to darken it quite a bit). This type of turning is a little difficult to do any sort of finish that has to be sanded a lot so the oils seem to me to be the best way to go.

DSC_7422 DSC_7423 DSC_7424

IMG_1569

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

