woodbowlsandthings

August 25, 2013

Is it worth it?

Filed under: Wood Lathe — Tags: , , , , , , , , — peteblair @ 4:05 pm

Kind of a long story but I’ll try to keep it short as I can.

In November of 2012 I was invited to gather some Maple from a tree that was being removed in my home town.

I took a trailer load, which was about 24 pieces 16 – 20 ” long and about 24 to 30″ in diameter.

I didn’t have a lot of time to prepare the wood but I did manage to cut the pith out of about half the rounds. I treated the ends both the halved and the whole rounds with Anchorseal. I believe the first generation of Anchorseal is far and away better than the newer type.

Here’s a shot of what happens if you don’t treat them.  The first picture is the treated end of a round and the second is a photo of the other end which I must have forgotten to treat. Not sure if you can see but the treated end had zero splits but the untreated end has many splits.

.IMG_2181

IMG_2182

So, here’s a couple of photos of my days work.

IMG_2186IMG_2188

It probably doesn’t look like a days work but here’s what I did. First I took all the rounds that I had split in November and cut them into various shapes for my lathe. Then I took the remaining rounds and removed the pith from them with my 16″ Husky. Not much work you say?

IMG_2179

Well considering that I ruined 2 bandsaw blades and hit another two nails with my chain saw I added quite a lot of time to the day, replacing bandsaw blades and sharpening my Husky 5 times.

Here’s a picture of some of the ‘junk’ I hit with my bandsaw.

IMG_2185IMG_2184

I have found a great tool that is really helps me sharpen my chain saw. Forgot to mention that if you have a chainsaw with a brake lever you must not remove the sprocket guard when the lock is on. Don’t ask me how I know but it took me 2 hours to get the cover back on!

IMG_2190

So, at the end of the day I had cut lots of blanks, made lots of shavings and ruined 2 bandsaw blades to the tune of about $50.00 not counting my time of course but all in all I think it was well worth while. I just wish the Timberline, who make the chain saw sharpener also made a bandsaw blade sharpener.

What say you, do you think the blanks I prepared were worth the day and costs I incurred?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

