woodbowlsandthings

September 5, 2015

Bark Bark

I’m not sure but taking a fairly quick look on the internet I can’t find anyone else who has used a wood lathe to turn bark.
I just love a stroll on the beach where I frequently pick up material for walking sticks, and sometimes even find a newly washed up tree that I can salvage for my wood lathe.
Lately I have also been collecting tree bark. I believe it is from Fir trees but it is quite possible it is from Spruce or some other closely related species

183 – 11 x 3 x 1 – Cedar bark shallow bowl turned with bowl on outside of bark -$60.00

.
Here are a couple of shots of my first attempts at turning it.

182(3) - 11 x 3 1/2 x 1 - Cedar bark - shallow bowl with two ring details. This was turned with the outside of the bark as the bottom of the piece - finihsed with Rattle can Lacquer- $75.00

182(3) – 11 x 3 1/2 x 1 – Fir or Spruce bark – shallow bowl with two ring details. This was turned with the outside of the bark as the bottom of the piece – finihsed with Rattle can Lacquer

183 - 11 x 3 x 1 - Cedar bark shallow bowl turned with bowl on outside of bark -$60.00

183 – 11 x 3 x 1 – Fir or Spruce bark shallow bowl turned with bowl on outside of bark

I am now in the process of taking this experiment further.

Stay tuned for the next step, laminated bark pieces of art.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

